Schengen Visa requirements for Czech Republic

Czech Republic is in Europe, part of the European union and part of the Schengen zone.
Not all European countries are in the European Union or Schengen zone, and therefore people that are from a country that is not in the Schengen zone, will need a visa (see below).

There are various types of Schengen visas, and only the C-Visa allows to travel (up to 90 days) in the entire Schengen zone. A D-Visa only allows to travel within Czech Republic. If you have only a D-Visa, then you must apply for a C-Visa (tourist visa) to visit another country in the Schengen zone / Europe (unless by default, you have visa-free entry to that country)

The European Union

The European Union is composed of 27 sovereign Member States:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Ireland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland are not in the EU but are (partly) cooperating.

The Schengen area

Currently there are 25 countries in the Schengen area:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Schengen Visa not for all citizens of EU member states

Being EU member state does not automatically mean that the country is also in the Schengen area (or the other way around). This has consequences for the visa-requirements: if a country is not in the Schengen area or does not adhere to the Schengen rules, their citizens are considered 3rd-Country National and must apply for a visa.

Although UK and Ireland are not Schengen members, their citizens enjoy Schengen-rights, which means they do not need a Visa or Work Permit, but can just make use of the EU temporary Residence Permit.

Bulgaria, Romania, Turkey and most former Yugoslavian republics (except for Slovenia) are not 'Schengen' yet, and therefore citizens are 3rd-Country Nationals, so they must have a visa!

Schengen countries

'Schengen' divides foreigners in two groups:

Although it would be more correct to use the term 'Schengen Citizen' for visa purposes, since not every EU member is a 'Schengen' member in practice 'EU-citizen' is used everywhere on publications instead of 'holder of a Schengen passport'.

For visa purposes only two flavours of foreigners exist:
  • EU Citizens (with Schengen passport or with Schengen rights)
  • 3rd-Country Nationals (everybody else)

Because the two groups are treated completely differently, select the appropriate link to continue:

Residence Permit Info for EU Citizens

Visa / Residence Permit info for 3rd Country Nationals